A little about the business...
Being a privately owned independent funeral business, you will always deal personally with the current proprietor Mr Stephen Pledger.
The original funeral home is believed to have started in the 1920's on the site of the old Holmewood Colliery under the ownership of a Mr Norman.
The premises are unfortunately reported to have burnt down in around 1976, being then rebuilt on their current site behind the parade of shops on Heath Road in 1977. The second owner Mr Frank Gilliver took over from Mr Norman (having worked under him for a number of years) in around the same time, before his eventual retirement in 2000, when the current owner Stephen Pledger took over.
Since acquiring the business in 2000, it has continued to grow in success, serving both the local community and wider surrounding areas.
Stephen has extensive knowledge and experience of the funeral business, having worked in a wide varieties of posts during his career spanning over 35 years. He has worked across both the public and private mortuaries sectors, is a qualified Anatomical Pathology Technician and worked for the UN in Bosnia.
Stephen is one of the few directors in the area who is a member of SAIF (The National Society of Allied and Independent Funeral Directors) working to a strict code of conduct and practice and committed to abiding by their rules and regulations. The business premises are inspected on a frequent basis and have to be maintained to a high standard.
The current premises benefit from being away from the busy road, discreetly located behind the main row of shops in the village and accessible by a drive-through, with ample private parking for cars and other vehicles.
The Chapel of Rest/waiting area has been newly refurbished and Stephen has a purpose-built mortuary on site, along with garaging for the funeral vehicles utilised. There is also additional parking at the side of the premises, which can be used for large family groups who attend.